C² [Chocolate and Curry]

After dinner last night I was still in the mood for more curry. I feel as though I’ve wasted almost 21 years of my life not indulging in any form of curry. I have to make up for lost time. I laid in bed and began Googling curry dishes for breakfast. My only prerequisites were minimal chopping was involved and it would take less than 30 min.

Voilà! Curried Oatmeal with Caramelized Onions. Two of my favorite things!

Curried Oats: Method
1/2 t  curry powder (or to taste)
1-3 T caramelized onions ( in this case more is better!)
1/3 + 1/8 C water
Pinch of salt
optional: poached egg

1. If you don’t already have caramelized onions start those right a way! They become sweeter the longer they simmer.
2. Wait 25 minutes and then begin to poach the egg. Allow 7 minutes for the egg to cook.
3. When the egg is almost finished pour boiling water on the oats (or microwave) and add the curry powder.
4. Top the oats with the carmelized onions, poached egg, salt, and if desired, more curry.
5. Enjoy!

This is now one of my favorite savory breakfasts and today debuted in my breakfast rotation!


The second C!
Chocolate Hummus!
When I was biding my time on the elliptical a few days ago I picked up Oprah’s magazine and thumbed through the articles. In this magazine she adapted dessert hummus recipes from the company Crazy Camel.
I would have felt guilty tearing the recipe out, so at home, I recreated it from memory.

Chocolate Hummus: Method
15 oz. can chickpea or garbanzo beans
2.5 T cocoa powder
1/4 C honey
2 T water (for consistency)
1/2 t cinnamon (add more to taste)
Nutbutter on top for presentation

1. In a food processor combined the beans, honey, cinnamon, cocoa powder and blend.
2. Scrape down the sides and add water for desired consistency.
3. Continue to blend until desired consistency is reached.
4. Feel free to add more spices/sweetener as you see fit!
5. Enjoy with apples, bananas, cinnamon raisin toast, etc..

Next time, I plan to add almond or peanut butter in the hummus. The dollop of peanut butter on top complimented the hummus perfectly and I believe blending it in the spread would kick it up a notch.

Have you ever had a dessert hummus?
What is the easiest dinner for you to whip up in a hurry?

One thought on “C² [Chocolate and Curry]

  1. Whoa chocolate hummus!!! I like roasted garlic hummus, lemon pepper hummus, roasted pepper hummus, and regular hummus, but no I’ve never had dessert hummus!!! Sometimes I cook chickpeas and black beans and canned tomatoes with parsley or cilantro and just a dab of peanut butter and serve it atop rice!! So good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

