I Found Waldo! [S’mores on the Stove]

This post is loooong, so I broke it into 3 parts to keep it interesting!
Moving in, Classes, and Food.

Moving In
:
Today is the beginning of part two of my three part summer. The first part consisted of being a morning regular at my gym, baking/cooking for my family, Zumba fitness training, camping, and relaxation. I didn’t even realize that my four weeks were coming to an end until days before my move. I then went into a frenzy and spent Saturday packing up a storm.

I would like to say that I am a entirely moved in with my friend, but actually it looks as though a tornado hit her apartment. My stuff is covering nearly every square inch, we lost my friend’s purse for a solid 5 hours, no exaggeration. In order to complete school work I have to have organization, by tonight my stuff will be organized.

Last night we threw together dinner in under twenty minutes, it was nearly 7:30 and we were starved. It wasn’t a pretty a meal and photographs were not taken. We camped out, apartment style using a cooler for our tabletop and sat cross legged on the rug. Best indoor camping ever. Tuna pasta with sundried (I am obsessed!) tomatoes, homegrown lettuce salad and grapes. Tasty, easy and filling!

After clean and shuffling my stuff around we found room to collapse on the floor. Watched some of Chelsea’s Dancing With The Stars clips, read some Cosmo and searched for Waldo. Until last night I had not completed a Where is Waldo? for years. I found Waldo and Wanda, but that dog is hidden entirely too well! Tonight may entail a round two search…

My roommate was the recipient of all the leftover camping food and that includes the s’more making goods. Mmm, yum! I had never seen a s’more made over a stove, it’s a brilliant idea! This is how she roasted her marshmallow and melted the chocolate chips (we didn’t have a chocolate bar).

Roommates dog! He

S’mores On The Stove: Method

1. Using a chopstick or fork turn burner on medium and toast marshmallow on one side.
2. For an equally toasted marshmallow, remove chopstick and prick other side. Toast until golden.
3.Bring water to boil in a pot
4. Place chocolate chips in a glass and when water is boiling place glass in pot to melt chocolate. ( Trust me, better than a microwave).
5. Spread melted chocolate onto graham crackers and place marshmallow.
6. Enjoy!

P.S. If there is extra chocolate I suggest making hot cocoa!

Classes:
Today is my first day of classes! I am taking two classes for the four week term: Exercise and Wellness and Philosophical Problems. Both classes sound interesting, I am excited to see what I am going to learn! I have never had a philosophy class and my last health/wellness class was in high school; the H.S. health classes were always a waste of time, I have high expectations for today! I feel like a freshman on the first day of school, anxious and excited best describe my emotions. My friend walked me from our first class (we have exercise and wellness together!) to philosophy class. I know I would have wandered the wrong way without guidance! It’s incredibly intimidating and exciting at the same time being in a new place. I love trying new things and going to new places, but I always need the extra push/support from a friend. But, it also makes me question if I will want to go abroad next summer to Spain. Oh well, cross that bridge when we come to it!

–My classes were great! My philosophy teacher is incredibly hippie and laid back and he also seems to be very willing to help. I am going to need his help, these philosophy readings are DENSE! But, I am still excited to dabble in a new field of study!

Philosophy Readings and write up...

Food:
The UO campus is gorgeous and it is warm today! We have plans to eat lunch in the quad and enjoy the sunshine! I love being on a large campus. There are several quality food options right on campus and the surrounding city has tons to offer. Holy Cow is at the EMU and serves organic goods.De-licious!

Preparing to add the chocolate!
Melting the chocolate!
Not the s'more, but a delicious one while camping!
My "Holy Cow" salad! Hummus on top and roasted garlic cloves!

Have you ever studied abroad or spent a significant amount of time in another country?
What is your favorite lunch to buy?

5 thoughts on “I Found Waldo! [S’mores on the Stove]

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a busy few days!

    I LOVEEEEEE s’mores soooo much!

    I’ve never studied abroad (and unfortunately I don’t think I’ll be able to if I want to graduate on time) but I’ve traveled a lot, and honestly, if you have the opportunity to live in another country for a while, just jump in! If you make the most of it, you definitely won’t regret it!

  2. Wiener Schnitzel! Wait no, Gelato! Wait, Apple Struedel! Dessert for lunch was definitely the way to go.Those s’mores sound great! I am so excited for you to cook all the time in our house next year!

Leave a Reply

