[WIAW] Birthday Edition

Hello Food Bloggers!
It’s the party of the week! If you’re new, click the link above and join the What I Ate Wednesday party with Peas and Crayons.

The past weekend flew by and I can’t believe it is already Wednesday! I woke up at 7 to drive back to school yesterday to make it back by 9:30 for my 10:00am class. I5 was full of travelers all headed home from the previous night’s festivites, but the morning sun was gorgeous and the drive went smoothly.

For this Wednesday I’m going to use our July 4th eats!

Breakfast: I already shared my breakfast taco yesterday, but it’s worth showing again. Red, White and Blue! Mmm, I think I’m going to eat this again tomorrow.

Red salsa, egg white, and blue plate!

Lunch: I didn’t eat a full lunch but instead grazed all afternoon. Hummus, Carrots, a Yogurt parfait and then my patriotic drink with the girls.

Not too pretty, but delicious
Vanilla yogurt, fiber one, and berries!
2nd appearance! It's easy and good, try it!

Dinner: This is where it gets interesting. We had a prime rib, roasted peppers and asparagus, a balsamic strawberry salad, wild mushroom puff pastry and my carrot cake for dessert!

The buffet..
A closer look!
Perfection!!
I forgot to take a picture before we started eating, woops!

Everyone loved the carrot cake and it was very easy to make! I will have the recipe up very soon, it is worth baking! Next time, less frosting. They always call for a larger portion than is needed, especially for this cake because it is incredibly moist.

After dinner/dessert, I headed to a friend’s house briefly to watch fireworks and indulged in dessert numero dos. Gotta celebrate both birthdays! Padre annnnd the nation. right?!
Strawberry Shortcake! (but I did refrain from the cake part, the strawberries and cool whip are the best part!)

Strawberry Coolwhip Mess

I love eating at home, everything always tastes better, especially when made by other people. My philosophy: Everything they make is oozing with love.

….not having to expend the effort might also be a factor, either way, it’s great!

Do you enjoy long drives?
What’s your favorite driving music or do you listen to audiobooks?  (
Harry Potter is my entertainment!)

17 thoughts on “[WIAW] Birthday Edition

  1. Errign

    Yummy eats! I don’t really love long drives unless I have company and I don’t have to do most of the driving. Maybe audiobooks would make them better?

  2. ooh, the drink DOES look awesome! As does the cool-whip + strawberry mess. I always “make” that at some point during the summer It is so refreshing.

Leave a Reply

