Lazy Saturday Afternoon [Broccoli Salad]

Happy Sunday!

It’s time to catch up on sleep or do everything else you put off from the rest of the weekend!

I have my final test in Health and Wellness tomorrow and because of this I have spent the day making flashcards and quizzing myself. I did decide to hunt down my bank ATM at one point to deposit money, but that ended with 45 minutes of wandering and a call to my roomie to save me. I sat in the shade on a street corner like a forgotten elementary schooler waiting for mom to pick me up after school. It was not my finest moment, but we both had a huge laugh.

On to the recipe!

This recipe is inspired from the salad I am absolutely in love with they serve at my school dining hall.

Ingredients:
1 broccoli stalk chopped into small florets (about 4-5 cups)
1/2 C Plain yogurt
1/3 C Light mayo
1.5 T Truvia
1 T White vinegar
3/4 C Craisins (or raisins)
~1/4 Sunflower seeds

–optional 1/4 C celery and nut of choice.

Steps:
1. Whisk the vinegar, Truvia, mayo, and plain yogurt in a bowl.
2. In the container you plan to serve the dish in add the broccoli florets, craisins, and sunflower seeds.
3. Pour the dressing over the broccoli and mix well. The craisins tend to fall to the bottom of the bowl.

It tastes better than it looks! Trust me! This was a last minute picture of extras.

This is a great addition to any BBQ or picnic, it is relatively healthy and is also quite tasty. We were lucky because the boys weren’t interested in eating vegetables. When the roomie and I returned home that evening we were able to enjoy the leftovers! A good thing too,  we were hungry after our volleyball and swimming filled afternoon!

Now on to a study filled evening! I hope you enjoy the rest of this gorgeous Sunday.

What’s your favorite thing to eat at a BBQ?

One thought on “Lazy Saturday Afternoon [Broccoli Salad]

Leave a Reply

