I Don’t Think We’re In Kansas Anymore…

It was only 24 hours, but for a foodie, such as myself, it was the greatest 24 hours I’ve experienced from a food standpoint in weeks. Last night we visited my friend for her (20th!) birthday and stayed the night with her in the house she was house sitting. The house is located just off the downtown strip and one would assume that it was just as any other house in the suburbs, all alike, flower garden, white picket fence, BUT NO! This house was at the edge of a huge chunk of open land.

Their backyard was the home to 19 hens, a HUGE vegetable garden, and plenty of room to run around for their three kids. Our friend was given permission to pick anything she wanted from the garden and eat whatever was left in their house (though it was rather bare, because the family planned a three week trip.) Believe me, we took advantage of these directions…

The garden!

The garden had rows of Kale, Basil, Parsley, Sugar Snap Peas, Squash, Eggplant, Tomatoes, Carrots, Swiss Chard, and Cucumber just to name a few of their lovely vegetables. Our breakfast consisted of fresh eggs from the hens, kale picked only moments earlier, organic yam, and a Trader Joe’s pancake mix.   I topped my pancake with TJ’s fig spread  It was exquisite. 

A few of the lovely hens.
My first kale cooking experience!

The real breakfast of champs.

I can definitely tell the difference in the eggs from farm fresh versus factory produced. I wish I had the option to never turn back, maybe when I have my own house… After breakfast we hit the Saturday Market, we picked up fresh local Tizaki Sauce, pita bread and headed home to enjoy the sun. But then we saw BLACKBERRIES!  We grabbed tupperware and picked almost three cups worth from the backyard and then broke into action, COBBLER! A dash of sugar, a pinch of cornstarch, LOTS of oats, a little flour, a bit of butter, brown sugar, some stirring action and tossed it in the oven. We were impatient and only baked it for 15 minutes, but another 5-10 would not have hurt the dish.

Fresh cucs and pita bread.

While the cobbler baked we chopped up fresh cucumber from the yard, the fresh pita, dished out some Tizaki sauce and plated the goods and waited…and waited…and then called the cobbler finished and removed it from the oven. Mmmm! The sweet aroma filled the kitchen and we filled our bowls with the oats and berries. Heavenly. Fresh. Organic. It was hard to resist saving a portion for our other friend, we debated keeping the dessert secret….

My little bowl of cobbler was refilled, more than once. I wish we had eaten dinner in and had the opportunity to cook more, but instead that evening we went out for sushi. It had been a while since I’ve eaten sushi, but my favorite is still the place we ate at in Buena Vista, CA.

What do you grow in your garden?

Or, if you don’t have a garden, What do you wish you were growing?

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Think We’re In Kansas Anymore…

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Think We’re In Kansas Anymore… | PDA8

Leave a Reply

