Egg Noggin’ Tea and Hard Cider

4 hours, 1 wrong exit, 1 squash and I finally pulled in to my driveway on Friday afternoon. I believe it may be ironic that I got lost in Portland area, the most familiar large city I was raised near…

Five minutes after parking I proceeded to dump my belongings on the staircase and plopped on the couch in front of the fireplace. The blazing fire lit the room with warm orange and red hues from its flame and I wanted nothing more than to sit *cough* lay on the couch. Who knew driving could be so draining?! Especially driving alone…much to0 solitary for my taste.

In the 48 hours I’ve been home it took my mom and I less than 24 hours to eat at The Sage, our favorite lunch spot, and wander around the local business for quick and easy holiday shopping. We found local tea mixes that have options for the green tea drinker, black, or even Oh my, Chai! (This was my personal favorite, chai is difficult to get wrong!) We then hit up WinCo, (whaddup!) and I discovered Eggnogg’n tea by Bigelow and Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride from Celestial. Oh. My. Goodness. Sugar Cookie SleighRide made my Christmas wish come true! This herbal tea is delightfully sweet and I find it to be the perfect addition to breakfast or for after dinner. I had 4 mugs yesterday, 4 large mugs. (If you need caffeine in the morning I suggest adding a bag of green tea for a boost.) The Eggnoggn’ is also a great seasonal tea but I wouldn’t go out of my way to buy it again.

In addition to my vegging I’ve found time to bake and craft, what more can you ask of a Christmas Break? I hope your answer is “nothing!”-if per chance your opinion differs,  that was a rhetorical question.

My friend and I (who recently joined me in the ranks of legal drinking) made a Safeway run and bought Hard Apple Cider to drink while we crafted and listened to Christmas tunes. If you’ve hesitated to buy the Hard Cider, wait no longer and take the plunge! At $7 (give or take) the cider is worth a try. We both love this adult beverage. Sweet, Crisp, and Bubbly, all of my favorite things! While we sipped we worked on 3-d snowflakes–these.

This isn't mine, but you get the idea--imagine Christmas wrapping paper pattern.

Saying we have an abundance of sweets in our house would be an understatement. We have (well, had–we got snacky hungry.) cookies up the wazoo! What’s a girl to do in this predicament?! Bake more!! My shipment of peanut flour recently arrived and I’ve been dying to use it in cookies. Add in the fact my foodie pen pal box arrived from The Lean Green Bean with mint & dark chocolate chips there was no question I would be baking.

I created a double chocolate-mint chip-raisin-peanut-steel cut oats-cookies. (What a mouthful!)

Tune in next time for the recipe and a look at what the lovely foodie box contained!

What have you been doing this holiday season?

Are you a baker or do you just welcome the baked goods?

Leave a Reply

